EDT1303 (week 7) 23/10/15

This week’s class started with my group’s (group 5) presentation on the topic of “Television – the new saviour”. Followed by the presentations of groups 7 and 8. There is four of us in the group. Hanisha, Hazira, Ummaira and me.

To be honest, I wasn’t satisfied with my part of the presentation since I was expecting it to go a bit different and more smooth. I was nervous, of course. Maybe that’s why I couldn’t speak to my audiences with full confidence. I was even more disappointed to find out that some my audiences weren’t really giving attention while I was presenting. How did I know that? It was simple. They were like “Huh? What? Me? Come again?” when I asked few basic questions throughout the presentation. But I don’t blame them for that. I think it’s me who failed to get their full attention.

On the other hand, I was very happy about how my friends did their parts. Especially Hazira. She had to prepare herself to present Ummaira’s part within an hour or so since Ummaira couldn’t make it to the class due to her early flight to Sabah. [Thanks for that Hazira! You did great even though you were stressed out!]… Hanisha presented quite well too. She had to find most of the sources online because our book had a very little information about her subtopic.

After the last 2 groups finished their presentation, Mr. Shukri gave general comments to all 8 presentations. Such as:

~> good engagement. 

~> enough confidence.

~> didn’t read from the notes.

and so on…

Then he introduced to us the terms “mooc” and “flooc” which got my friend Hazira like “Oh! This reminds me of Muke and Dr. Fluke!”

Image 7.1  MUKE (Michael and Luke)

Image 7.2  Dr. Fluke

But nah! Mr. Shukri wasn’t talking about them for sure. What he was talking about were Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) and Foreign Language Open Online Course (FLOOC). “These are new trends of teaching” he said.

After that, he talked about Macintosh and GUI. And moved on to the topic of Infographics.

What is Infographic? It is a visual image such as a chart or diagram used to represent information or data. One can put a page full of information into a single picture and make it more fun to read. Because, of course, just observing an image is way easier, less time consuming and more understandable than reading passages. This is the best way of delivering information to those who doesn’t like to read.

60seconds

Mr Shukri showed us this above image as an example of an infographic and said that is one of his favourites. He told us this is gonna be our next task. Each group will have to create an infographic image for their respective topics.

Another one thing he talked about towards the end of the class was Kindle. It is a small hand-held electronic device for reading books, which has been developed by online retailer Amazon. Rather as you download an iPod or MP3 player with music, you download books (via wireless technology) on to a Kindle and read them on it.

Kindle1370476531

That’s all about this week’s class.

thanks-for-reading

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

